NewsStand    Festivals    Gigs    Clubs    Interviews    History    Research    Books

Skegness Rock & Blues Festival 2016
Saturday Evening 23rd January 2016

Butlins Skyline Pavilion © Copyright 2011 Alan White. All Rights Reserved.


 Sean Webster & The Dead Lines with guest Aynsley Lister  

"Sean Webster is the inspiring guitar vocalist with a great reputation on the British blues and rock scene. The band has seen members come and go since its creation back in 2003 however Sean's focus has stayed the same and he continues to do what he does best....write music.  Sitting on the drum stool of The Dead Lines is Phil Wilson (The Hoax, The Davey Brothers, Scott McKeon) bringing a fresh and vibrant groove to Sean's music. For the first time in many years, Sean has included a second guitarist in his new line up, Ash Wilson (Phil's older brother) who is one of the greatest guitar players in Europe and compliments Sean perfectly. Finally on bass is Greg Smith (The Melt, Infamous Vampires). After years of studying at the Basstech in London, and subsequently teaching for many years, Greg brings a concrete foundation to this line up, making the whole rhythm section one of the best on the scene".



"Hawkwind are one of the earliest space rock groups. Their lyrics favour urban and science fiction themes. Formed in 1969, Hawkwind have gone through many incarnations and they have incorporated different styles into their music, including hard rock, heavy metal, progressive rock and psychedelic rock. They are also regarded as an influential proto-punk band.  Dozens of musicians, dancers and writers have worked with the band since their inception. Notable musicians to have performed in the band include Lemmy, Ginger Baker and Huw Lloyd-Langton, but the band are most closely associated with their founder, the singer, songwriter and guitarist Dave Brock, who remains the only original member.  They are best known for the song "Silver Machine", which became a number three UK hit single in 1972, but they scored further hit singles with "Urban Guerrilla" (another Top 40 hit) and "Shot Down in the Night." 22 of their albums charted in the UK between 1971 and 1993".



 Otis Grand & The Big Blues Band  

"Otis Grand, the Gentle Giant of the Blues, has absorbed a wide spectrum of Blues styles in the past four decades and now leads the hottest true Blues and R & B band around today. More importantly, he not only carries the real blues torch for the heroes of yesterday, his superb blues guitar technique and playing and originality and a tight band that rocks mean, Otis Grand also sets the standards for many others to follow which ensure that he is at the top of the Blues scene for many years to come. Otis Grand has pioneered the big band blues sound over the last few years, starting with a West Coast R&B band and now moving into his present guitar led Big City style Blues. For the past ten years Otis has recieved a number of Awards including UK Blues Guitarist of the Year (1990- 96), Best Blues Albums, Best Band, and nominations to the prestigious W.C. Handy Blues Awards in Memphis, Tennessee".




 Aynsley Lister  

"This extremely talented UK blues guitarist picked up the instrument at the age of eight, and within five years had played his first gig. The teenage Lister played with fellow bluesman Coco Montoya on a trip to San Francisco, California and after putting together a band recorded his debut album in 1996. Lister sold this album and the live follow-up at concerts, by which point he was beginning to attract the attention of bigger labels. He signed a recording contract with the German label Ruf Records and recorded his debut for the label with backing from Jonny Dyke (keyboards), Matt Kay (bass), and Wayne Proctor (drums). Guitarist Walter Trout made a guest appearance on a cover version of Gary Moore’s ‘Since I Met You Baby’. The follow-up Everything I Need, recorded with Kay and Proctor, was Lister’s American debut and helped promote his name beyond his European fanbase. The album, like its predecessor, was comprised largely of Lister originals. The curiously titled live set Supakev N Pilchards followed in 2002. All Or Nothing featured a new line-up of the Aynsley Lister Band, with James Townend (bass) and Alex Thomas (drums) backing Lister on another strong set of originals and a blistering cover version of Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Crosstown Traffic’. Thomas was subsequently replaced by ex-Kula Shaker drummer Paul Winter-Hart".



Website, Photos and Text © Copyright 2000-2016 Alan White. All Rights Reserved.
For permission to copy, email:

Click on the logo for the main blues festivals menu

Click on the logo for the main website menu